How to get a Tanzania Visa

Thinking of visiting Tanzania? Tanzania is a country on the east coast of Africa, the largest East African country in fact. Tanzania has three international airports, in Dar es Salaam, Kilimanjaro and ZanzibarTanzania has many natural and tourist attractions, – from the snow–capped peak of Mount Kilimanjaro, to the rolling plains of the Serengeti and the unspoiled beaches of Zanzibar. Little wonder it is a prime tourist destination for a lot of people. We will give you the information you need to obtain a Tanzania visa.

There are daily flights to any number of European destinations. There are no direct flights from the USA to Tanzania; the easiest connections are through Europe or South Africa. There are regular flights from other African countries to Dar es Salaam International Airport, mostly from Nairobi, Kenya and Johannesburg, South Africa.

How do I get a visa for Tanzania?

You may obtain a visa from an embassy or high commission of Tanzania near you. You may also obtain a visa on entry into Tanzania at the airport, otherwise known as a visa-on-arrival. You will be charged a fee for this.

For most foreign nationals, you can get a visa on arrival in Tanzania. However, if you are applying for a visa from your home country (or any other country) you will be required to provide the following:

Tourist Application Requirements for a Tanzania Visa include

  • A completed visa application form, signed by the applicant.
  • A valid International Passport (Valid for at least 6 months from the date of application)
  • Two recent passport photographs (on white background)
  • An Invitation letter (If you are being invited over)
  • Hotel Reservations, flight itinerary, ticket or tour operator package receipt.
  • An introduction letter from your office or organization if you are traveling for reasons other than tourism.
  • A prepaid self-addressed envelope to facilitate the return of your passport by the most secure mail. Be sure you are able to track it. FedEx and UPS are accepted.
  • Yellow fever vaccination card.
  • Pay the requisite visa processing fees.

All visa applications should be made in person except for Government Officials, agencies and Religious groups.

How long can I stay for?

In Tanzania, tourist visas may be issued as single or multiple entry permits and are valid for a maximum period of three or six months respectively. Multiple entry visas are valid for six or twelve months from the date of issue. You may extend your visa for three months at a time up to a maximum of six months at the Immigration office in Dar es Salaam.


Zanzibar and other islands are still part of Tanzania but is administered autonomously. You will be required to present your passport and follow their specific immigration procedures on entry and exit.

Who can enter Tanzania without a visa?

Nationals of the following countries may enter Tanzania without a visa. Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Ashmore and Certie Island, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Belize, Botswana, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cayman Island, Channel Island, Christmas Island, Cocoas Island, Cook Island, Cyprus, Dominica, Falklands, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guernsey, Guyana, Heard Island, Hong Kong, Isle of Man, Jamaica, Jersey, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Macao, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Naue Island, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Ross Dependency, Rwanda, St Kitts and Nevis, St Helena, St Lucia, St Vincent, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Solomon Island, Seychelles, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

All other foreign nationals must get a visa to enter Tanzania.

For US Nationals

Americans may obtain visas-on-arrival, however the US government encourages its nationals to apply for a visa beforehand by post. Get more information at


Add Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.